presidential election is being held in India on 17 July 2017, and counting will be done on 20 July 2017, five days before the incumbent President's term expires.The incumbent is eligible for re-election, as no term limits exist in India. 


  • Ram Nath Kovind, the Governor of Bihar, was announced as the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led NDA's candidate for the post of President of India by BJP president Amit Shah on 19 June 2017. Kovind is a leader and a politician from the BJP. Kovind filed his nomination for the election on 23 June 2017.
  • Meira Kumar, the former Speaker of Lok Sabha, was announced as the Indian National Congress (INC)-lead opposition's candidate for the post of President of India, after a meeting held on the 22 June 2017.
  • Selection process

  • The president is elected by an electoral college consisting of the elected members of both houses of parliament, the elected members of the Legislative assemblies of the 29 states and the elected members of the legislative assemblies of the Union Territories of Delhi and Puducherry. As of 2017, the electoral college comprises 776 MPs and 4120 MLAs. The total strength of Electoral college is 10,98,882 votes. Halfway mark is 5,49,442 votes. After state assembly elections and by-polls of 2017, NDA is short of nearly 20,000 votes.

    The nomination of a candidate for election to the office of the President must be subscribed by at least 50 electors as proposers and 50 electors as seconders. The election is held in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of the Single transferable vote method. The voting takes place by secret ballot. The manner of election of President is provided by Article 55 of the Constitution.

    Results will be declared on 20 July 2017.